Eat Local Challenge: September 8-14

I live for summer food. I’ve been devouring pints of freshly picked blueberries, bags of gorgeous greens, and all the produce overflowing the farmer’s markets. You’ll find me at the farmer’s market every week eyeing all the fresh produce and the humanely, pasture-raised meat and eggs.

After trying to find more space in my packed fridge for another beautiful bunch of kale I just had to buy, I realized how much local produce I had in the fridge. The thought popped into my head to challenge myself to eat 100% local for 1 week.

So, that’s it. Next month from September 8-14, I will be eating local with food grown or produced in the Green Mountain State – Vermont. There are many reasons to eat local – taste, freshness, peak nutrients, community, sustainability, and more.

Eat Local Challenge

Fortunately, there is an abundance of local food available to me. I will be hitting up farmer’s markets, farmstands, and local co-ops to stock up on nutrient-dense, whole, local foods. I’ll happily exchange avocados and chia seeds for local greens and kefir. Lucky for me, I don’t have to give up maple syrup, cheddar cheese, or wine!

Wherever you live, I want you to join me in this challenge.

I want to encourage others (and myself) to start or continue a commitment to eating local food. If you frequent farmer’s markets regularly, make the commitment to go 100% local for the week. If you’re just getting started, start by eating a few or half your meals local for the week. My hope is this challenge will encourage everyone learn more about where your food comes from and how it was grown or raised.

The Rules

A locavore is typically defined as someone that eats food that was grown within a 100 mile radius of their home. Use this map tool to determine that radius around you. Since Vermont is such a small state, I’m choosing to eat local to Vermont.

  • Eat food that is grown/produced within a 100 mile radius of you. Or if you live in a smaller state, eat local to your state.
  • Make your commitment. Choose to eat 100% local for the week, or choose to make half your meals for the week (10 meals) local.
  • Choose 3 “staples” to use. These may be olive oil, salt & pepper, or other ingredients you may use on a regular basis that may not grow locally to you. No, almond butter or chocolate is not a “staple.”
  • Sign up. You can make your commitment below in the comments section, or send me an email at therunningcarrot@gmail.com. You can also sign up to receive new posts via email on the left sidebar.
  • Share. During the week, share your meals by posting on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, your blog, or emailing me.
  • BONUS. For those committing to eating 100% local or half your meals local for the week, you will be entered in the drawing to win:

The Vermont Farm Table Cookbook by Tracey Medeiros.

vt farm table

I met Tracey at the Burlington Farmer’s Market, and her cookbook is full of over 150 delicious-looking recipes and beautiful pictures! She has happily decided to donate a cookbook to the winner. The winner will have tons of recipes to make with the local food they’ve been eating.

I will be sharing more about the challenge as the week gets closer, but in the meantime, start thinking about your commitment and sign up! Get excited and get ready by finding all the farmer’s markets or farmstands local to you. Share this challenge with your friends and family to encourage everyone to eat local.

5 responses to “Eat Local Challenge: September 8-14

  1. Pingback: What a Dietitian Thinks about Artificial Sweeteners | The Running Carrot·

  2. Pingback: August in Photos + What I’m Reading | The Running Carrot·

  3. Pingback: Eat Local Challenge {and Giveaway} | The Running Carrot·

  4. Pingback: What I Learned from Eating Local for a Week | The Running Carrot·

Share your thoughts!

